Machine-learning Optimized Design of Experiments


MODE (for Machine-learning Optimized Design of Experiments) is a collaboration of physicists and computer scientists who target the use of differentiable programming in design optimization of detectors for particle physics applications, extending from fundamental research at accelerators, in space, and in nuclear physics and neutrino facilities, to industrial applications employing the technology of radiation detection.
We aim to develop a modular, customizable, and scalable, fully differentiable pipeline for the end-to-end optimization of articulated objective functions that model in full the true goals of experimental particle physics endeavours, to ensure optimal detector performance, analysis potential, and cost-effectiveness.

The main goal of our activities is to develop an architecture that can be adapted to the above use cases but will also be customizable to any other experimental endeavour employing particle detection at its core. We welcome suggestions, as well as interest in joining our effort, by researchers focusing on use cases for which this technology can be of benefit.

The above program has been submitted in a concise form as an expression of interest to the JENAA group.


Next workshop

The Second MODE Workshop on Differentiable Programming for Experiment Design is open for registrations and abstract submission! Join us on 12--16 September 2022 in Kolymbari, Crete!

2021 2020


At INFN and Università of Padova Dr. Tommaso Dorigo, Dr. Pablo De Castro Manzano, Dr. Federica Fanzago, Dr. Lukas Layer, Dr. Giles Strong, Dr. Mia Tosi, and Dr. Hevjin Yarar
At Université catholique de Louvain Dr. Andrea Giammanco, Prof. Christophe Delaere, Mr. Maxime Lagrange, and Dr. Pietro Vischia
At Université Clermont Auvergne, Prof. Julien Donini, and Mr. Federico Nardi (joint with Universitá di Padova)
At the Higher School of Economics of Moscow, Prof. Andrey Ustyuzhanin, Dr. Alexey Boldyrev, Dr. Denis Derkach, and Dr. Fedor Ratnikov
At the Instituto de Física de Cantabria, Dr. Pablo Martínez Ruíz del Árbol
At CERN, Dr. Jan Kieseler
At University of Oxford Dr. Atilim Gunes Baydin
At New York University Prof. Kyle Cranmer
At Université de Liège Prof. Gilles Louppe
At GSI/FAIR Dr. Anastasios Belias
At Rutgers University Dr. Claudius Krause
At Uppsala Universitet Prof. Christian Glaser
At TU-München, Prof. Lukas Heinrich and Mr. Max Lamparth
At Durham University Dr. Patrick Stowell
At Lebanese University Prof. Haitham Zaraket

The Scientific Coordinator of the MODE Collaboration is Dr. Tommaso Dorigo, INFN-Sezione di Padova
The Steering Board of the MODE Collaboration includes:


Below is a list of events organized by the MODE Collaboration:



Below is a list of publications by the MODE Collaboration:

Below is a concise list of relevant publications to the research interests of the MODE Collaboration. MODE members among the authors are indicated in boldface:



Scientific Coordinator Dr. Tommaso Dorigo
Email: dorigo (at) pd (dot) infn (dot) it
Office tel.: +39 0499677230
Mobile tel.: +39 3666995594
Snail mail: Dipartimento di Fisica e Astronomia "G.Galilei", via Francesco Marzolo 8, 35131 Padova, Italy
Other Steering Board members

Prof. Julien Donini, julien (dot) donini (at) cern (dot) ch
Dr. Andrea Giammanco, andrea (dot) giammanco (at) uclouvain (dot) be
Dr. Fedor Ratnikov, fratnikov (at) hse (dot) ru
Dr. Pietro Vischia, pietro (dot) vischia (at) cern (dot) ch

Institutional contacts
(when not in SB already):

CERN: Dr. Jan Kieseler, jan (dot) kieseler (at) cern (dot) ch
Université de Liège: Prof. Gilles Louppe, g (dot) louppe (at) uliege (dot) be
(the email address of some institutional contacts is not disclosed)